

ERSA European Prize rules

The jury operates in full agreement with the principles, practices and procedures described below:

1° Each year the jury can propose a European Laureate.

- 1.1. A consultation of regional scientists, from all over the world, is made under the authority of the President of the jury. During the consultation regional scientists are asked to propose the name of a living European regional scientist, who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of regional science.
- 1.2. The names proposed during the consultation are sent to the President. Using an 'approval voting' procedure, the jury chooses the laureate from the candidates proposed during the consultation. The President cannot propose names. In the case of a tie, the President has the casting vote.

2° The jury will be selected from the world wide regional science community.

- 2.1. The jury will have six members, including the President: four from Europe; one from The Americas, and one from the rest of the world.
- 2.2. Jury members serve at most for a three year period. The initial geographic distribution (see 2.1) will be maintained when replacements are selected.
- 2.3. Jury members are not eligible for the prize.

3° The laureate will be selected by the jury.

3.1. Among the attributes to be considered when selecting a laureate are: publication record, service to regional science, academic and corporate policy making experience.

4° The jury is managed by the president of the jury.

4.1. The president of the jury is elected by the members of the jury for a period of three years. The President is the last member of the original jury to rotate off the jury.

- 4.2. During his/her three-year term (not renewable), the President is in charge of the presentation of the laureate at the ERSA annual meeting and the President shall be charged with managing all official dealings with the media.
- 4.3. The President of the jury is expected to keep the ERSA Council and the R.S.A.I. Executive Director fully informed of the jury activities.
- 4.4. The president will be responsible for setting the dates and venues of the jury meetings. These decisions will be fully articulated with the activities of the ERSA and the RSAI.

The composition of the Jury is as follows:

Isabelle Thomas (President, ERSA, term 2021-2023) Roberta Capello (ERSA, term 2023-2025) Michel Dimou (ERSA, term 2022-2024) Jouke van Dijk (ERSA, term 2022-2024) Patricio Aroca (LARSA, term 2022-2024) Genevieve Giuliano (NARSC, term 2022-2024)

Latest update 06.03.2023