14th International Conference “Challenge of Europe”
Design For The Next Generation
17 – 19 May 2023, Bol, Island Brač, Croatia

The Croatian section of the European Regional Science Association (ERSA) is proud to co-organize the 14th International Conference “Challenge of Europe” featuring the theme on “Design for the Next Generation” which will be held from 17 to 19 May 2023 in Bol, Island Brač, Croatia.

Over the past 28 years, the Faculty of Economics, Business and Tourism, University of Split has been organizing a biennial international scientific conference, under the title “Challenges of Europe” since 2009. The aim of the Conference is to present the latest research on growth and development, business competitiveness and innovation, contributing to strategies and policies that help countries, cities and regions overcome obstacles to competitiveness, growth and prosperity with a focus on the Republic of Croatia and the EU economy. Since 1995 the Conference has brought together more than 2,000 authors with more than 1,500 papers from more than 60 countries around the world, has been a place of dialogue between outstanding scientists and experts from around the world and has been promoting the exchange of knowledge and innovation.

This Conference is one of the most important international scientific conferences of economists in the world and the only one in the Republic of Croatia with the participation of the Nobel Prize laureates. In 2015 Professor Joseph Stiglitz, PhD (Nobel Prize in Economics in 2001), and in 2017 Professor Jean Tirole, PhD (Nobel Prize in Economics in 2014). In 2019, we hosted two Nobel Prize laureates in Economics: Professor Eric Maskin, PhD (Nobel Prize in  Economics in 2007) and Professor Oliver Hart, PhD (Nobel Prize in Economics in 2016). Apart from the Nobel Laureates, the high-ranking representatives of world, European and Croatian institutions and associations of economists have also been participating at the Conference, for example Professor Andrés Rodríguez-Pose, PhD (back then president of The Regional Science Association International) and Professor Olivier Blanchard, PhD (Peterson Institute for International Economics; President of the American Economic Association).

The upcoming 2023 Conference will feature again not one but two Nobel Laureates in Economics: Professor Eric Maskin, PhD (Nobel Prize in Economics in 2007) and Professor Alvin Roth, PhD (Nobel Prize in Economics in 2012) together with Prof. Edward Altman, the world’s leading expert on credit risk and debt market, Prof. David Reibstein, world-renowned authority on branding and marketing metrics and Assoc.prof. Özge Öner, world-famous academic in urban and spatial economics.

The special section of the Conference is related to the regional topics, and assoc.prof. Özge Öner is the keynote for this section.

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Eric Maskin, Nobel Prize in Economics in 2007

Prof. Alvin Roth, Nobel Prize in Economics in 2012

Prof. Edward Altman, the World’s leading expert on Credit Risk and Debt Markets

Prof. David Reibstein, World-renowned authority on Branding and Marketing metrics

Assoc. Prof. Özge Öner, World-renowned scholar in Urban and Spatial Economics


Full Paper submission deadline: 6 March 2023.
Extended abstracts deadline /Full paper deadline (for Work in progress /Young participant papers, Special sessions and PhD workshop papers): 13 March 2023.
Deadline for early payment & registration: 2 April 2023.
Deadline for payment & registration: 2 May 2023.

Conference venue:

Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa****
Put Zlatnog Rata 46, 21420, Bol, Island of Brac, Croatia

Contact of the organiser: summer@efst.hr


Stay tuned on ERSA events,  Join our Emailing list