The European Regional Science Association Council (ERSAC) consists of the representatives of the European sections. A Council Meeting is held yearly with the majority of present members taking a decision.

The European Regional Science Association Council (ERSAC) consists of the representatives of the European Sections (who must be members of their respective Section) as well as up to three additional members elected by the Council (ERSAC).

The ERSAC elects the ERSA Board: President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.

ERSAC Board members (Sections representatives)

  • Baltic section
    Diana Cibulskienė
    Address: P. Visinskio Str. 25, LT-76351 Siauliai, Lithuania
    Phone: ++370 41 595 864 Mobile Phone: +370 652 39930
  • British and Irish section
    Maria Abreu
    Department of Land Economy, University of Cambridge, UK.
  • Bulgarian Section
    Stanka Tonkova
    University of National and World Economy (UNWE), Bulgary
  • Croatian section
    Irene Djokic
    Economic Institute Zagreb, Trg. J.F. Kennedyja 7, HR-10000 Zagreb, Croatia
  • Dutch section
    Martijn Smit
    Universiteit Utrecht
    Dept. of Human Geography and Planning
    The Netherlands
  • French speaking section
    Fabienne Leloup
    Faculté ESPO – ISPOLE
    Université catholique de Louvain UCL (campus FUCaM)
    Bâtiment B b320 – 151 chaussée de Binche 7000 Mons – Belgium
  • German speaking section
    Annekatrin Niebuhr
    Institute For Employment Research, Kiel University
    IAB Nord,  Projensdorfer Str. 82, Kiel 24106 Germany
  • Greek section
    Yannis Psycharis
    Dept. of Economics and Regional Development, Panteion University,
    136 Syngrou Avenue, 176 71 Athens, Greece
    Phone +30 210 9201722; Fax.: +30 210 9232979
  • Hungarian section
    Zoltán Gál
    Centre for Economic and Regional Studies of
    Hungarian Academy of Sceiences, Papnovelde u 22, H-7621 Pécs, Hungary
    Phone: +36-30-7199448;
  • Israeli section
    Prof. Miki Malul, Dean
    Guilford Glazer Faculty of Business and Management
    Ben Gurion University of Negev
    Be’er Sheva, Israel, 8410501
  • Italian section
    Guido Pellegrini
    Università di Roma La Sapienza, Dipartimento di Scienze economiche e sociali,
    Piazzale Aldo Moro, 5, 00185 Roma, Italy
  • Moroccan section
    Abdellatif Khattabi
    Ecole Nationale Forestiere d’Ingénieurs, Salé, Morocco
  • Nordic section
    Steinar Johansen
    Oslo Metropolitan University – Norwegian Institute For Urban And Regional Research (NIBR)
    Po Box 4, St Olavs Plass  0130 Oslo, Norway
    Phone: +47 67 23 56 62
  • Portuguese section
    Francisco Carballo-Cruz
    PhD Oxford University
    Economics Department – School of Economics and Business (EEG)
    University of Minho
    Largo do Paço, 4700 Braga, Portugal
    Phone: + 351 253 601932
  • Romanian Section
    Daniela L. Constantin
    Academy of Economic Studies of Bucharest, Bd. Lascar Catargiu 16A, ap.8
    sector 1, RO-010761 Bucharest, Romania
    Phone: +4 – 0723 -184 – 807; Fax: +4 – 021- 40-29-210
    E-mail: or
  • Russian section
    Alexander Pelyasov
    Council for Research of Productive Forces, under Russian Academy of Sciences and
    Ministry of Economic Development and Trade, Moscow 117997, Russian Federation
    Phone: (095)135-34-59; Fax: (095)745-36-91
  • Slovak section
    Stefan Rehak
    Department of Public Administration and Regional Development, University of
    Economics Bratislava, Dolnozemska cesta 1, 852 19 Bratislava, Slovakia
    Phone +421 7 5812301; Fax : +421 7 5812302
  • Spanish section
    Jordi Suriñach
    University of Barcelona
  • Turkish section
    Tüzin Baycan
    Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Istanbul Technical University
    Taşkışla 34437 Taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
    Tel: +90 212 29 313 00 (Ext. 2296); Fax: +90 212 25 14 895
    E-mail: and

RSAI Councillors elected by ERSAC
(update May 2019)

  • Andre Torre
    RSAI Councillor as ERSA President, term 2019-2023, term ends in December 2023
    (previous terms as RSAI Councillor: I term: 2014-2016; II term: 2017-2019 – ended in 2018)
    UMR SAD-APT; INRA – Agroparistech; 16, rue Claude Bernard; 75231 Paris Cedex 05
    Phone: +33(0)686878093; Fax: +33(0)144081657; Email:
  • Francisco Carballo-Cruz
    RSAI Councillor from ERSA, term 2017-2019; term ends in December 2019
    (first term as RSAI Councillor; nominated by ERSA to take over in 2017 from Jouke van Dijk – term 2016-2018 – who became RSAI Councillor as ERSA President; following RSAI’s interpretation – hold a full three year term from 2017 till 2019)
    School of Economics and Business, University of Minho
    Largo do Paço, s/n P-4715-057 Braga (Portugal)
  • Jouke van Dijk
    RSAI Councillor from ERSA,  term 2019, term ends in December 2019
    (Second term as RSAI Councillor; nominated by ERSAC to take over in 2019 from André Torre who became ERSA President (the previous term as RSAI Councillor: First Term: 2016-2018)
    University of Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands

RSAI Councillors-at-large
(update May 2019)

  • Rosella Nicolini
    RSAI Councillor-at-large, term ends in December 2020 (First term: 2018-2020, take over in 2018 from Tüzin Baycan)
    University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
  • Maria Abreu
    RSAI Councillor-at-large, term ends in December 2018 (First term: 2019-2021, take over in 2018 from Fabio Mazzola)
    University of Cambridge

 In case of any inaccuracies or errors please contact the Secretary at:

ERSAC recent Meeting Agendas