23rd Uddevalla Symsopium 2020
“The Geography of Creativity, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship – Implications for Regional Growth and Development”
2021, Stenungsbaden Hotel & Conference, Stenungsund,Sweden

 

The 23rd Uddevalla Symposium 2021 is a joint event co-organised with European Regional Science Association (ERSA).

This symposium welcomes specifically papers:

  • that analyse the spatial preconditions for creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship and to what extent they
    coincide or differ and how they change over time,
  • that analyse theoretically and/or empirically the relationship between creativity, innovation and
    entrepreneurship and regional growth and development,
  • that analyse the specific role that large and dense urban regions play for creativity, innovation and
    entrepreneurship,
  • that analyse the need for policies to stimulate creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship and discusses the
    effective instruments including institutions,
  • that analyse how the tendencies of concentration of creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship to large and
    dense regions affects other types of regions,
    • that analyse clusters of creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship inside/outside large and dense regions,
    • that analyse other critical relationships between creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship and regional growth
    and development.
  • that analyse innovation and societal development from the perspective of work integrated learning.
  • that analyse the role of regional institutions and governance in boosting/hampering creative, entrepreneurial
    and innovative activity
  • that analyse regional entrepreneurship and innovation dynamics along the expansion/contraction phases of the
    economic cycle
  • that discuss meanings of creativity, innovations and entrepreneurship in relation to regional growth.
  • that critically analyses and discusses policies on creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship on regional, national
    and global level.

The Organiser welcomes the submission of papers to:

  1. The Geography of Creativity, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship – Implications for Regional Growth and Development Or to one of the following special sessions:
  2. Special Session in the Honour of Professor Roger R. Stough
    Chairs: Prof. Charlie Karlsson, Jönköping university, Sweden, Charlie.karlsson@ju.se, Assoc. Prof. Haifeng Qian, The
    University of Iowa, USA, haifeng-qian@uiowa.edu and Assoc. Prof. Ting Zhang, University of Baltimore, USA,
    tzhang@ubalt.edu
  3. Social Capital and Development Trends of Countryside in the Knowledge Society – The 2nd International Workshop
    Chair: Prof. Hans Westlund, The Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, hans.westlund@abe.kth.se and Assoc. Prof.
    Kakuya Matsushima, Kyoto University, Japan, matsushima.kakuya.7u@kyoto-u.ac.jp
  4. Work Integrated Learning in Theory and Practice: Theories, Methods and Applications
    Chairs: Prof. Lars Svensson, lars.svensson@hv.se, Prof. Per Assmo, per.assmo@hv.se and Assoc. Prof. Fredrik
    Sunnemark, fredrik.sunnemark@hv.se School of Business, Economics and IT, University West, Sweden
  5. Time-geographical Analyses of Innovation, Knowledge and Regional growth: Theories, Methods and Applications.
    Chairs: Prof. Elin Wihlborg, Linköping University, Sweden, elin.wihlborg@liu.se and Prof. Per Assmo, University West,
    Trollhättan, Sweden, per.assmo@hv.se.
  6. Digital Divides as Barriers for Regional Growth
    Chairs: Prof. Elin Wihlborg, Linköping University, Sweden, elin.wihlborg@liu.se, Ass. Prof. Karin Skill, Linköping
    University, Sweden, Karin.skill@liu.se, Assist. Prof. Nicola Matteucci, Marche Polytechnic University, Ancona, Italy,
    n.matteucci@univpm.it and Assist. Prof. Irene Bernhard, University West, Sweden, irene.bernhard@hv.se
  7. Entrepreneurial Ecosystems, Creativity and Skills
    Chairs: Prof. Helen Lawton Smith, Birkbeck, University of London, UK, h.lawton-smith@bbk.ac.uk and Prof.
    Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, University of Buffalo, USA geosbs@buffalo.edu
  8. The Aging Population: Individual, Organizational and Regional Opportunities and Challenges
    Chairs: Mikaela Backman, Jönköping international Business School, Sweden, Mikaela.backman@ju.se & Johannes
    Hagen, Jönköping international Business School, Sweden.
  9. Perspectives on Mobility, Real Estate and Regional Development
    Chairs: Dr Helena Bohman, helena.bohman@mau.se and Dr Désirée Nilsson, desiree.nilsson@mau.se , Department
    of Urban Studies, Malmö University, Malmö, Sweden.
  10. Economic and Technological Complexity as Drivers of Regional Development
    Chair: Prof. Tom Brökel, University of Stavanger, Norway, tom.brokel@uis.no
  11. SME Business Transfers in Need of Creativity and Innovation
    Chair: Prof. Susanne Durst, University Wet, Sweden, susanne.durst@hv.se and Assoc. Prof Ann Svensson (Co-chair),
    University West, Trollhättan, Sweden. Ann.svensson@hv.se
  12. Sustainable Finance and Regional Development
    More information on the web www.symposium.hv.se
    Chair: Prof. Maher Asal, University West, Trollhättan, Sweden, maher.asal@hv.se

Objectives
Following the tradition established by the previous Uddevalla symposia, starting in 1998, the 23rd symposium is designed to bring together leading-edge views of senior academic scholars and mix them with the critical and creative views of postdocs and PhD students engaged in their thesis work. We welcome researchers from various fields, such as economic geography, entrepreneurship, international business, management, political science, regional economics, small business economics, sociology and urban and regional planning. The objectives of the twenty-third Uddevalla Symposium 2020 are: i) to provide a unique opportunity for scholars including senior and junior researchers to discuss path-breaking concepts, ideas, frameworks and theories in plenary key-note sessions and parallel competitive paper sessions, and ii) to facilitate the development and synthesis of important contributions into cohesive and integrated collections for potential publication.
Therefore, unpublished complete papers are invited for presentation and feedback from other scholars.

Publications
Leading-edge contributions from previous symposia have appeared in so far eight special issues of prestigious journals with an additional one in the pipeline, and nineteen edited book volumes. Following the traditions, we are considering publishing either a special issue and/or a book volume consisting of a selection of papers presented at this symposium except for a Proceedings with revised papers. For a selected list of publications of previous symposia, please see http://www.symposium.hv.se/en/publications.

Submission information
tbc

Scientific Committee
Prof. Martin Andersson, Blekinge Institute of Technology & CIRCLE, Lund University, Sweden, martin.andersson@bth.se
Prof. Per Assmo, University West, Sweden, per.assmo@hv.se
Prof. David Audretsch, University of Indiana, Institute for Development Strategies, USA, daudrets@indiana.edu
Dr. Irene Bernhard, University West, Trollhättan, Sweden, irene.bernhard@hv.se
Prof. Paul Cheshire, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK, p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk
Prof. Alessandra Faggian, Gran Sasso Science Institute, L’Aquila, Italy alessandra.faggian@gssi.it
Prof. Maryann Feldman, University of North Carolina, USA, maryann.feldman@gmail.com
Prof. Charlie Karlsson, Chair, Jönköping International Business School & University West, Sweden charlie.karlsson@ju.se
Prof. Helen Lawton Smith, Birkbeck, University of London, UK, h.lawton-smith@bbk.ac.uk
Prof. Mark Partridge, AED Economics, Ohio State University, USA, partridge.27@osu.edu
Prof. Lars Svensson, LINA, University West, Trollhättan, Sweden, lars.svensson@hv.se
Prof. André Torre, University Paris-Saclay, INRA, AgroParistech, France, andre.torre@wanadoo.fr
Prof. Elin Wihlborg, Linköping University, Sweden, elin wihlborg@liu.se

Organisation Committee
Dr. Iréne Bernhard, Symposium, Chair, University West, Sweden, irene.bernhard@hv.se
Dr. Urban Gråsjö, University West, Sweden, urban.grasjo@hv.se
Prof. Charlie Karlsson, Jönköping International Business School, Sweden, charlie.karlsson@ju.se
Ms. Rebecca Olsson, Symposium Assistant Coordinator, University West, Sweden, rebecca.olsson@hv.se

Co-financers and sponsors
European Regional Science Association ERSA, https://ersa.org/
George Mason University, Schar School of Policy and Government, Fairfax, VA, USA, https://www2.gmu.edu/
Municipality of Uddevalla, Sweden, https://www.informationsverige.se/Engelska/Leva-och-bo/lan-och-kommuner/Pages/Uddevalla.aspx
The Institute of Business Administration (Företagsekonomiska institutet), Stockholm, Sweden, http://www.fei.se/aboutfei/research
University West, LINA, Trollhättan, Sweden, http://www.hv.se/en/learning-in-and-for-the-new-working-life
University West, School of Business, Economics and IT, Trollhättan, Sweden, http://www.hv.se/en/about-university-west/organization/school-of-business-economics-and-it

Further information about the 23rd Uddevalla symposium can be found at: The symposium website
Twitter https://twitter.com/hashtag/uddevallasymposium

Stay tuned on ERSA events and Join our Emailing list